Skip to main content
Rycrofts Shop
Rycrofts Shop
23032.7604166667
Archives
The Stockport of Bygone Years No. 33. This picturesque building in Bridge Street, Stockport, will be remembered by many as the premises of one of the town's best-known confectioners and pastrycooks, Rycrofts. It stood on that part of Bridge Street which runs between Princes Street and Lancashire Bridge.The business was established in 1790 by Miss Ann Okell, and later passed to Mr. Samuel Minshull who married Miss Okell's niece. It was later taken over by Mrs. G. R. Rycroft, the daughter of Mr. Minshull. The business closed in June 1930, when the property was bought by the corporation for demolition to facilitate the widening of the mouth of Princes Street. There have been rumours that it was taken down, crated and shipped to America, because of its half-timbered design, but these rumours have not been confirmed.
Title:
Rycrofts Shop
Date of work:
23032.7604166667
Reference number:
STOCKPORTIMG\1553
Level of description:
Item
Access restrictions:
Unrestricted
Use restrictions:
Copyright applies
General notes:
Available to buy: N
Topics:
Contributors:
Stockport Advertiser (Photographer)
Language:
English
Record number:
8788401
0